Prorating Plans
  • 25 Nov 2021
  • 1 Minute to read
  • Comment

Prorating Plans

  • Comment

While the default option when you create a new plan is to charge the first billing cycle in full and bill the following cycles on the 1st, you can also choose to prorate your plans. Prorating simply means charging customers for the number of days they actually used the space when they sign up to a plan past the plan's default billing day.

For example, you offer a plan that is billed on the 25th of each month. If customers are able to sign up at any point during the month, you probably want to make sure they aren't charged for the full month if they joined on the 19th.

  1. If the navigation menu isn't visible, click the menu icon in the top left corner of the page.

  2. Click Inventory > Plans.

  3. Click on the plan you want to edit.

  4. Click on the Price tab.

  5. Select the Discount the first invoice for up to... option.

Plans_ProratingOption.png

  1. Adapt the number of days based on the plan's billing frequency.

For example, 31 days for monthly plans and 14 days for bi-monthly plans.

  1. Click the Save Changes button.

You've successfully prorated your plan. Any new member signing up will be invoiced based on the number of days left in the plan's current billing cycle.


Was this article helpful?